Author Bio

Marlene Bruno teaches kindergarten and Chapter 1 for St. Joseph Public Schools. Former chair of the Young Authors' Steering Committee, she served as elected secretary of MRA from 1987 until 1993.

Beth Bentham, who teaches first grade at Lybrook Elementary School in Eau Claire, has been the chair of the Young Authors' Steering Committee since 1989.

Karen Brininstool-Gazella has taught first and second grade for 17 years in the Hartford School System and is currently coordinating a tutoring program for the Salvation Army of Benton Harbor.

Karen Burlington is a Chapter 1 reading teacher for Coloma Public Schools. She has served as Young Authors' Celebration co-chair and in many other council roles.

All four have been executive officers of the Tri-County Reading Council.


Dear MRJ Author(s): The MRA Board has approved the release of this article in open access format. If you have questions about your content in the MRJ archives, please contact mrj@cmich.edu and we will respond to your concerns.



To view the content in your browser, please download Adobe Reader or, alternately,
you may Download the file to your hard drive.

NOTE: The latest versions of Adobe Reader do not support viewing PDF files within Firefox on Mac OS and if you are using a modern (Intel) Mac, there is no official plugin for viewing PDF files within the browser window.